Profile

Caitlin

$18 (45 min)
Qualification
Spanish
Virginia Polytechnic Institute - 2005

Name Caitlin
Country Dominican Republic
Native Language English
Preferred student age
Secondary school (12-17)
Students (17-22)
Adults (23-40)
Adults (40+)
Preferred level of students
Beginner
Pre Intermediate
Intermediate
Upper Intermediate
Advanced
Can also teach
Spanish
Haitian Creole
Can speak

Subject

English

English lessons for children

I helped to develop an English camp in Puerto Plata. The summer of 2017 will be our 6th summer operating. It includes four stations: art, songs, story, and games. Not all activities are possible via skype, but many actually are.

Intensive English

I can provide more in depth training for advanced English speakers.

English for beginners

I have taught English for beginners for 10 years.

Conversational English

English for traveling

Reading and writing English

Spanish

Spanish lessons for children

Intensive Spanish

Spanish for beginners

Conversational Spanish

Spanish for traveling

Reading and writing Spanish

Haitian Creole

Haitian Creole lessons for children

I have taught elementary students in Haitian Creole for 10 years.

Intensive Haitian Creole

I can provide advanced activities and dialogue for those with a strong base.

Haitian Creole for beginners

Conversational Haitian Creole

Haitian Creole for traveling

Working with Haitian Creole people

In the organization I manage, we have 26 employees, 24 of whom are native Haitian Creole speakers.

Having Haitian Creole friends

Reading and writing Haitian Creole

I am an advocate of the production of more books in Haitian Creole and recently published a children's book that is bilingual in English and Haitian Creole.

Haitian Creole lifestyle and culture

Marrying a native Haitian Creole

I have been married to my husband from Haiti for 6 years now and can provide insight to others.

About Tutor

I grew up in Virginia and graduated from Virginia Tech in December 2006. As a student, I co-founded a non-profit organization called Project Esperanza. Project Esperanza primarily serves the Haitian immigrant population in Puerto Plata, Dominican Republic in the areas of education, social aid, and community development.

Shortly after graduating, I moved ot Puerto Plata to oversee the operations. I have lived here for about a decade now immersed in Spanish and Haitian Creole. I married a man who is originally from Haiti. We have three biological children and two adopted children. Our household is trilingual in English, Spanish, and Haitian Creole.

Experience

I began tutoring athletes at Virginia Tech in 2004. I tutored with the VT Athletic Services from 2004 to 2007. After moving to Puerto Plata, I did primarily language tutoring, but continued to teach subjects in Creole and Spanish. Therefore, I have 13 years of experience tutoring.

Teaching Approach

I like to teach students key words and phrases and then use songs, stories, and dialogue to drill in the key words and phrases. I find that after a basic backbone is formed, there are fun ways to inspire students to build on the backbone, learning new vocabularly quickly and efficiently.