Profile

Suzanne

$27 (45 min)
Qualification
TEFL
Florence - 2014

Name Suzanne
Country United Kingdom
Native Language English
Preferred student age
Secondary school (12-17)
Students (17-22)
Adults (23-40)
Adults (40+)
Preferred level of students
Beginner
Pre Intermediate
Intermediate
Upper Intermediate
Advanced
Can also teach
English
Can speak
French
German
Italian
Thai

Subject

English

English lessons for children

I have taught English to children of all ages from Italy, China, Poland and Turkey.

Intensive English

I have helped students prepare for their IELTS exams in very short periods of time.

English for beginners

1, 2, 3. A, B, C. Hello, Goodbye, How Are You?

Business English

I have helped students in the engineering industry as well as students in the pharmaceutical, medical and legal fields.

Conversational English

What have you been doing today? What do you think about Brexit?

English for traveling

From which platform will the next train to Vienna depart please? Can you tell me what the "Dish of the Day" is please?

Reading and writing English

I have helped students improve both these skills with regard to IELTS exams and also more generally.

About Tutor

I am Suzanne and I am now 45 years old.

I gained my TEFL Certificate in December 2014 after doing an intensive and (sometimes) stressful course in beautiful Florence in Italy.

I have a beautiful daughter who is now almost 3 and she takes up a lot of my time but she will start nursery very soon and I will need something to fill my time!

When I do have some free time I love teaching, watching movies, learning languages myself, MOTOGP and knitting.

I love teaching and seeing the progress that my students make. I will teach whatever my students ask me - whether it is for the purposes of going on a holiday, for work purposes or simply to learn this wonderful language for conversational purposes with family and friends.

Experience

Before having my daughter I taught English both on a private basis to Italian families and also as an employee of the British Institutes in Portogruaro in the Veneto region of Italy. Whilst working for the British Institutes I taught all levels and ages.

I have been teaching online for over 2 years now and have helped students prepare for SLEE, PET, FCE, CPE, CAE and IELTS exams. I have/have had students from Peru, Brazil, Russia, Turkey, Italy, Spain, Germany, Hong Kong, Jordan, Korea, Saudi Arabia, Egypt, Ukraine, Poland etc.

Teaching Approach

My teaching approach is very relaxed but I expect my students to be on time and to try and do the homework that I set them (if they ask for it).

We progress at the speed of my students. If there is a particular aspect of grammar (for example) that they are struggling with, we will keep working on it until they are happy that they understand it.

I am honest with my students as to their progress and expect them to be honest with me in return.

I have a wide range of sources available to me that I can use to help my students improve. I use readings, listenings, songs, videos and grammar exercises.