Profile

Margaret

$27 (45 min)
Qualification
120 hour TESOL
International Open Academy - 2017

120 TEFL and TESOL
ITTT - 2016

140 hour TEFL
Star TEFL - 2015

Name Margaret
Country Mexico
Native Language English
Preferred student age
Secondary school (12-17)
Students (17-22)
Adults (23-40)
Adults (40+)
Preferred level of students
Beginner
Pre Intermediate
Intermediate
Can also teach
Spanish
Can speak
Spanish

Subject

English

English lessons for children

I have planned lessons and taught children English from learning their ABC's to learning parts of speech.

Intensive English

I have tutored many ESL students.

English for beginners

I have worked in schools in a country where English is not their first language.

Conversational English

I currently teach online to adults in Mexico who want to improve their English skills.

English for traveling

Helping tourists here in Mexico has been a favorite hobby of mine, not only do I get to help the tour guides learn English, I also help the tourists learn about where they are visiting.

Working with English people

At my current day job in Mexico I am needed a lot of times to translate what the bosses need to workers here. (translating English to Spanish and vise versa).

Spanish

Spanish lessons for children

Spanish for beginners

Conversational Spanish

I can carry on a full conversation in Spanish.

Spanish for traveling

I have helped many tourists.

Working with Spanish people

I currently live in Mexico and translate Spanish to English many times.

Having Spanish friends

Reading and writing Spanish

Understanding Spanish movies

Spanish lifestyle and culture

Marrying a native Spanish

My husband is from Mexico and we moved here together in 2007

About Tutor

I have been teaching children and young adults English as a second language for about 20 years now. I began working online in 2016 and I have mostly worked with companies that are based out of China. I love teaching English as a second language because I know the difficulties of learning a new language myself. My classes are energetic and I like to sing and have fun. Many props are used in my class and I also like to refer to worksheets. My hobbies include, swimming and riding my bike. I also enjoy cooking for my family and going on nature walks and taking pictures.

Experience

I began teaching young children many years ago (18 years ago) in daycares and schools in Georgia. I got my bachelors in Early Childhood Education in 2002 and I worked with grade 3 in a local school. I moved to Mexico in 2007 and started teaching English out of my home to young kids and tutoring teenagers and adults from 2008 to 2011. After that I began working at a local school here in Mexico teaching English to children ages 3 to 6. In 2015, I wanted something more so I got my first TEFL certificate. I began teaching online in 2016 and I have loved it every since.

Teaching Approach

Learning a new language is not an easy task, and I understand that because I had to learn spanish as a new language. I think with practice and persistence, anything can be accomplished. I like to have fun in my classes and I love to use props for the students to understand easier. I have an awards system that the children love to recieve when they have completed a task well.