Profile

Tumi

$20 (45 min)
Qualification
TEFL Cert
TTMadrid - 2017

Name Tumi
Country Spain
Native Language English
Preferred student age
Secondary school (12-17)
Students (17-22)
Adults (23-40)
Adults (40+)
Preferred level of students
Beginner
Pre Intermediate
Intermediate
Upper Intermediate
Advanced
Can also teach
Dutch
Can speak
Spanish

Subject

English

English lessons for children

I have taught English as an Au pair, worked at Immersion Camps, English Aftercare and Kindergarten. I always keep my classes fun and use a lot of material, cause children are visual creatures. Like using flash cards, playing taboo and role play.

Intensive English

I had a student who learned English in the mornings for 3 hours a day, he was writing his IELTS for general English and was determined to pass. Which he did successfully!

English for beginners

I have taught complete beginners and had to make use of flash cards, gestures and exaggerated facial expressions to put my point through.

Business English

I have taught in company lessons, where I had to teach very specific vocabulary and help with writing speeches, addresses and even reports.

Conversational English

I teach these kind of classes everyday on Cambly and Tutoring Go. I always have a website called ESLquestions and asked students questions, which always veer off into conversation.

English for traveling

I love teaching English for traveling because traveling is a passion of mine. I usually teach important phrases, etiquette in different countries and a quick educational slide of the country.

Working with English people

I'm from South Africa so most people are English. I've worked with English people at most of my jobs and maybe at the summer camps a few Spanish

Having English friends

I have friends from everywhere because I love traveling. I have friends from England, Ireland, Australia, New Zealand and the USA

Reading and writing English

I have taught little ones how to read and sound out letters, I have taught adults how to read long words and in syllables.

Understanding English movies

I have had a student do a screen share with me and we watched an episode of a show and we'd stop it every time he didn't understand something or had any question about what was said. like "what part of speech was that, is that a phrase natives use? etc"

About Tutor

I am a bubbly person who enjoys being around people and traveling all over our beautiful world. I am a walking book of quotes and always have something inspiring to say, some say I believe I am the modern day Shakespeare but without the dying of fever part. I am energetic and always make sure the mood is lighthearted in my lessons.

Experience

I have been working as a teacher on and off for most of my adult life. Which is why my teaching experience ranges from Aupairing, Online Tutoring, Teaching in class, In-company, Immersion camps, General and Business English and even working as an Aftercare English teacher. Although I've had many other jobs, teaching English has been the only constant thing in my life. I currently work for Cambly and Turtoring Go, which are both online companies.

Teaching Approach

I approach each lesson as an individual lesson because no two students are the same. I always try to make my lessons fun and as close to the students interests as possible. I never put pressure on my students as that can lead to withdrawal, I generally keep my classes light and easy going. For a more serious student I can switch it up and be easy going but with a hint of seriousness. I have learned both the PPP and TPR method and use both in my lessons, it varys according to each student.