Profile

Dunia

$20 (45 min)
Qualification
Bachelors Degree of Liberal Arts
The City College of New York (CUNY) - 2009

TESOL
The Canadian Institute - 2013

ACTL
The Canadian Institute - 2013

Name Dunia
Country United States
Native Language English
Preferred student age
Secondary school (12-17)
Students (17-22)
Adults (23-40)
Adults (40+)
Preferred level of students
Beginner
Pre Intermediate
Intermediate
Upper Intermediate
Advanced
Can also teach
Spanish
Can speak
Mandarin
Russian

Subject

Spanish

Spanish for beginners

Business Spanish

Hi! How are you? Where are you from? Learning to count. Talking about your free time? Is it hot? At the supermarket, at the bar, at the cinema. Talking about food. My first piece of writing.

Conversational Spanish

Taking decisions- what liable techniques have you used to think about the long term consequences of your actions? how to express possibility? Improving your communication. Solving conflicts. What are the news talking about? What conclusions have you made after interacting with people of different backgrounds? What is the difference between multi-culture and inter-culture?

Spanish for traveling

What types of foreign food restaurants have you eaten at? Why is fast food so popular? What are some things you like to do in your free time?

Working with Spanish people

What’s the best way to travel when you visit a country? Train, car, bicycle, bus, some other way? Why Where did you spend your last vacation? What did you do? What are some things you always take with you on a trip?

Having Spanish friends

I have taught Spanish students from middle and high school how to improve their writing and communication skills.

Reading and writing Spanish

Do you have any friends or family who are Spanish? How does that affect your view of immigration? What dishes from your Spanish countries do you know? Have you ever lived in a Spanish country? If you could learn any kind of Spanish dance, what dance would you pick?

Understanding Spanish movies

What is the best email your ever sent? What its your favorite food recipe? Did you check the news? I dont have more bettery. (Reading). The most exotic fruits from Central and South America.

About Tutor

New York has been my home for the last 24 years but I was born in Guatemala.
While in High School I decided to teach some of my classmates Spanish. After a few sessions, my classmates were able to improve their scores and some took an interest in the Spanish culture as well. Therefore, I decided to become a teacher. Since then, I have been teaching for more than seven years in different parts of the world, including The US, Argentina and China. My exposure to different cultures has helped me to interact with students of different nationalities and backgrounds.
I understand firsthand the struggles of learning a new language. During the last four years, I had been living in China. One of my main hobbies, therefore, is learning Mandarin. What has helped me the most is to immediately use what I learn with my Chinese friends. This is why in my class I constantly create a friendly environment where the students can practice conversation.

Experience


I graduated with a Bachelors Degree of Liberal Arts from the City College of New York in May 2009. Since my graduation, I've been privilege to teach a variety of students including adolescents, business professionals and absolute beginners.
In China, I worked for different International Schools including IL Texas High School and the South China Normal University Foreign Language School (FLS). In FLS I had the great opportunity of developing the Spanish curriculum for the Middle School. My exposure to different cultures has prepared me well to interact with students of different backgrounds.

Teaching Approach

My classes are based on my students interests, goals, hobbies and culture. I truly enjoy watching students learn, and helping them to realize that knowing how to study can make life so much easier. I make my classes fun by using real life scenarios, dialogues, visual and audio Aids. I constantly tailor my classes to the students’ specific needs and work through any difficulties as a team. Some of my students have been taking classes with me for over two years. I'm sure that with patience and a good attitude, anyone can make a significant progress in Spanish.