Profile

Jessica

$51 (45 min)
Qualification
Bachelor Degree in Education
University of British Columbia - 2007

Master's Degree in Education
Endicott College - 2005

Bachelor of Arts
University of Victoria - 2003

Name Jessica
Country Canada
Native Language
Preferred student age
Secondary school (12-17)
Students (17-22)
Adults (23-40)
Adults (40+)
Preferred level of students
Beginner
Pre Intermediate
Intermediate
Upper Intermediate
Can also teach
English
Can speak
English

Subject

English

English lessons for children

I am a classroom teacher in an Elementary school and have many students whose second language is English. I also tutor young students from China in small groups at a Language school in Vancouver.

Intensive English

I tutor online students who are preparing for tests such as IELTS

English for beginners

I teach beginner English to children and Adults. I have a program that allows begginers to thrive very quickly

Conversational English

I teach conversational English online -- When meeting someone new, it is customary to look them in the eyes, shake hands and say "it is very nice to meet you."

English for traveling

I have taught people wanting to learn vocabulary and the necessary skills to travel in English spealing countries.

Working with English people

I am a native Canadian so work with English people daily

Having English friends

I am born and raided in Vancouver so all of my friends and family are English

Reading and writing English

English is my first language. I completed all of my schooling in English. I wrote a Master's thesis for my degree

Understanding English movies

I enjoy watching movies. If you enjoy movies as well, we can chat about some that we have watched.

English lifestyle and culture

I am a fourth generation Canadian so have deep roots to Canada and the Canadian culture.

Marrying a native English

I am married to a man who was born in North Vancouver which is located in the North Shore of the Pacific Ocean. He is a native speaker as well and also tutors!

About Tutor

I am a friendly Canadian teacher from Vancouver BC, Canada. I have three degrees including a Master's in Education. I teach in a classroom and also tutor ESL students online and in person.

I enjoy sharing my Canadian culture with my students. If this is of interest to you, I can spend some of our tutoring time showing you pictures and videos I have made that highlight my city and culture.

I am a mom to a wonderful two year old boy who is a smart and energetic little guy!

Experience

I have been teaching and tutoring for ten years.

I am a classroom teacher and many of my students are from other parts of the world and have different ability levels.

On the weekend, I teach a small group of ESL students. These students are new to Canada and are learning English to help them in their studies.

I tutor online as well. My students are of varying ages and are from all over the world.

Teaching Approach

I have a wonderful interactive online program that is fun and helps you to learn all aspects of English in a short period of time.
If you choose me, I will send you a placement test. I use the results of this test to create an individual learning plan that is unique to your needs. Even if you have been to English school in the past, I can fill in any gaps that you may still have.

I am very warm and friendly and will use my sense of humour to keep you engaged.
As I mentioned before, I am keen to share my Canadian life with my students. Learning with me helps you gain English skills and also gives you an inside view into my life here in Vancouver, BC Canada.