Profile

Elspeth

$30 (45 min)
Qualification
TESOL
University of Maryland - 1989

Name Elspeth
Country United States
Native Language English
Preferred student age
Secondary school (12-17)
Students (17-22)
Adults (23-40)
Adults (40+)
Preferred level of students
Intermediate
Can also teach
English
Can speak
Spanish

Subject

English

English lessons for children

Taught native speakers to read and write. Teacher at VIPKID.

Intensive English

Taught English to native speakers through High School.

English for beginners

Teacher at VIPKID.

Business English

Worked in Business offices in the US for over ten years.

Conversational English

English conversation teacher in Utah. Friends with many non-native English speakers.

English for traveling

Native speaker.

Working with English people

Native speaker.

Having English friends

Native speaker.

Reading and writing English

Taught English to native speakers through High School. U.S. college graduate.

Understanding English movies

Native speaker

English lifestyle and culture

U.S. native.

About Tutor

I have a bachelor's degree from the University of Maryland and have completed a graduate level course in TESOL. I enjoy meeting non-native speakers of English and learning about their culture as well as sharing my own with them. I have four mostly grown children and enjoy spending time with them. I also enjoy reading, hiking, travel, learning and ministry.

Experience

I have done some English tutoring. I have schooled at home four children, teaching them how to read and write as well as all other school subjects, including two through high school graduation into college. Most recently, I taught for a short while with VIPKID online.

Teaching Approach

Having studied Spanish abroad, I understand the difficulties of studying a foreign language. I want students to feel comfortable and enjoy learning English. The emphasis will be on learning to speak fluently.